Homeshare – East Finchley London N2

A new opportunity to live affordably only moments from East Finchley High Road, in return for providing some practical support and companionship to an older person.

Available from: End September/October 2021.

Homeshare Location:

 Only a 10–15-minute walk to East Finchley tube station (Northern line) and a 20-minute walk to the shops and cafes in Muswell Hill. There are regular bus routes close by.

Accommodation on Offer:

A newly refurbished and large loft room with double bed and private ensuite bathroom. Plenty of storage and wardrobe space available. Shared use of the kitchen, lounge, and garden. There is good Wifi.

What the Opportunity involves:

 In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 pm), we are looking to match our homeowner with a female Sharer who can provide some practical support around the home, a little companionship and most of all, reassurance that someone else is in the house at night.

Our homeowner is a gentleman in his early 90s. Although having lived in England for most of his life, he spent his early years in Italy and maintains his love of Italian food particularly pasta and risotto which he makes for himself daily. He is very independent and has a close relationship with his family who visit regularly.

Since he was widowed, he has shared his home with somebody in a similar arrangement for many years, so he is used to this way of living.

He is passionate about opera, classical music and reading and he has travelled to many places around the world. Nowadays he spends most of his time watching television and enjoying the garden, as he has some difficulty walking. He is also quite hard of hearing.

In return for sharing his home, our homeowner is asking for some practical help in the house such as some light housework, grocery shopping, watering plants, and a little ironing (a cleaner comes to the house regularly). Some companionship would be appreciated although he is happy with his own company, using his Ipad, watching television and chatting to family members. No personal care is required.

The ideal Sharer will be a mature and kind lady who is happy to provide around 10 hours of practical support and some occasional company each week. Peace of mind at night for our homeowner and his family is the main thing.

This opportunity would suit somebody who is working and has some flexibility during the week, and who has been double vaccinated.

We are looking to fill this opportunity very soon so please get in touch if it is of interest.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do not pay the rent to the homeowner. Bills are included however you may need to contribute towards council tax £50 per month. (Full-time students are exempt from council tax.)

Call us now:  020 3137 6421