Homeshare – Cambridge UK

We are delighted to offer a wonderful new Homeshare opportunity in the heart of Cambridge which will be suited to someone who would like to live affordably and comfortably in return for providing a little practical support and companionship to an elderly lady.

Available from: End January/beginning February 2022.

Homeshare Location:

Fabulously and conveniently located only a 10 minute walk in to the centre of Cambridge itself, the university, coffee shops and train and bus station.

Accommodation on Offer:

Large double room in this beautiful 1860’s terraced home with 4 ft bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, desk, chair, bookshelf and mirror, private en-suite bathroom and use of separate study.

Shared use of kitchen, living room and garden. There is also a separate entrance to the accommodation. Wifi is available.

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match our older homeowner with a kind and mature female student who can provide around 10 hours each week of practical support around the home, some companionship and most importantly the reassurance that someone else is there at night.

Our homeowner is an elderly, bright and independent lady in her 90s, who has always been interested in people and enjoys socialising, chatting, and reminiscing with her family and her many friends. She has had an interesting life working as a volunteer for several charities over many decades and she enjoyed an active and sociable life.

In her recent older years, she is now living a much quieter life at home and her days involve chatting on the phone, seeing family and visitors, and listening to Radio 4 and classical music. She can sometimes get a little confused and forgetful and is otherwise in good physical health, walking independently around the home with a stick.

Our homeowner is a warm and friendly person with a good sense of humour and lots of stories to tell. She has had international students as lodgers for many decades and is still in touch with many of them. Her family and Meals on Wheels bring food round, and she has carers popping in a few times a week.

This wonderful Homeshare opportunity would ideally suit a PhD or post graduate student who is looking for quiet and safe accommodation and who is happy to lend a hand around the house and provide some companionship to the Homeowner. No personal care is permitted.

A bit of help with some light housework, putting the bins out, local errands and occasional telephone support would be great, and a regular offer a cup of tea and toast would go down a treat! Ideally, we would like to match someone who enjoys spending time with older people and is patient and understanding and has a sense of humour.

Cost: £199 per month

This is the monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay the rent to the homeowner. Bills are included. Full time students are exempt from council tax.

We are looking to match this opportunity very soon so if you are interested, please get in touch and tell us about yourself and why you would be suited.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421