Homeshare – Southfields, London SW18

We have a very nice new Homeshare opportunity available for a sharer to live comfortably and affordably on a quiet residential road in a lovely part of South West London, in return for providing some practical support and daily companionship to a lady in her late 80s.

Available from: May 2024.

Homeshare Location:

An 8-minute walk to Southfields tube station (District line, 30 minutes to Victoria) and easy bus routes to Clapham Common station. Wimbledon Village, with its lovely shops and cafes, is 20-minutes away by bus.

Accommodation on Offer:

A quirky, self-contained space with underfloor heating comprising a pullout double bed, wardrobe and bedside table, desk, and chair, and ensuite bathroom with toilet, basin, and shower in a purpose-built large outbuilding in the garden. A short path leads to the house and its main facilities offering shared use of the Homeowner’s living room and kitchen, and plenty of space to work or study. The Homeowner lives downstairs, and her daughter and her husband live upstairs with a separate living room and kitchen. A washing machine and dryer are available, and Wi-Fi. There is space for a bike.

What the Opportunity involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation, (£199 per month), we are looking to match our lovely Homeowner with a friendly Sharer, who is happy to provide a little practical support and some daily companionship, approximately 10 hours per week. No personal care is required or permitted.

Our Homeowner is an intelligent, engaging, warm and fun-loving lady who loves people and has a very large and close family. She has had a long career as a nurse and then as a relationship counsellor.  She travelled widely with many interesting adventures and has enjoyed the theatre, reading, drawing and painting and gardening.

Although her mobility and health have declined recently and she uses a stick and hearing aids, our Homeowner still maintains her good sense of humour and happy outlook. She enjoys seeing friends for tea and watching quiz programmes as well as listening to classical music and watching a broad range of films and TV series.

Our Homeowner is looking to share her home with someone she can chat to daily and who can provide a bit of practical support, such as collecting prescriptions and a bit of shopping, cooking, and light housework, but mostly it’s about sharing some companionship time and conversation and providing a reassuring presence close by. Whilst she has family living with her, they are often away travelling or have commitments which take them away from the home, and having a sharer who mostly works or studies from home or has a flexible schedule and can be around to check in on the homeowner regularly and provide some help and company will be reassuring to all the family.

This opportunity will suit a younger person aged 23+ who is positive, friendly, and kind and happy to help out and be a friendly presence in this household in return for the low cost, self-contained accommodation.

We are looking to match this opportunity very soon, so if it is of interest, please get in touch with us and tell us a bit more about yourself and why you would be well suited.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do not pay rent to the Homeowner. Bills are included, although you may be asked to make a modest contribution to the homeowner towards council tax if you are working.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421