Homeshare – Finchley Central, London N3

We are delighted to offer a very nice opportunity for someone to live comfortably and affordably in a great location in North London, in return for providing some practical support and daily companionship to an older lady.

Available from: end March 2024

Homeshare Location:

A 5-minute walk to Finchley Central Tube station (Northern line, Barnet Branch) and to the high street’s shops and cafés, and excellent bus links.

Accommodation on Offer:

Bright, single room in a charming and quirky four-bedroomed house in a quiet residential road with a lovely, small garden. There’s wardrobe space and a desk together with use of a separate, smaller room to work or study. Shared use of bathroom, small kitchen, dining area and living room and washing machine. There are two separate toilets. Wi-Fi is available. A cleaner comes every week.

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match our lovely homeowner with a friendly and kind female Sharer who is happy to provide some practical support, some daily companionship, and a reassuring presence at night. No personal care is permitted.

Our homeowner is a very friendly, engaging, and interesting lady in her early 90s with a good sense of humour. Her family live some distance away although she has nice neighbours, and her granddaughter stays overnight occasionally. She is mentally very sharp and has good eyesight, but she is a little hard of hearing and has some health issues including painful arthritis and some back problems which affect her mobility.

She worked for many years as an artist, illustrating and painting, and loved to travel. She used to dance and sing, and theatre, music and drama were a big part of her life, and although she no longer attends performances, she still loves art and reading a good book. She values kindness and very much enjoys being with friendly and cheerful people. Friends take her to church when they can.

She is looking to share her home with someone who can provide some practical support for an hour in the morning from around 8-9am, to open the shutters, perhaps share some time over breakfast, who is happy to make the odd cup of tea, empty the bins, water the plants and do the odd local errand or pick up some local groceries (she gets an internet food order) but mostly it’s about sharing some companionship time and conversation and providing a reassuring presence at night.

The ideal Sharer will be a female (preferably 23 years +) who works locally and ideally has some flexibility to work from or near home sometimes. Someone who is cheerful, friendly, and mature, kind and caring with a good sense of humour and is happy to spend time together in the evenings, sharing some meals, chatting, playing scrabble, doing a puzzle or watching tv.

If this is of interest, please get in touch with us soon and tell us a bit about yourself and why this opportunity might suit you.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay any rent to the homeowner. Bills are mostly included although you may need to make a small contribution to the homeowner towards council tax and energy bills.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421