Homeshare – Chalfont St Giles

A fabulous homeshare opportunity is available in the gorgeous area of Chalfont St Giles in Buckinghamshire, offering quiet and safe, low-cost accommodation with a lovely older lady in return for some practical support and companionship.

Available from: January 2023

Homeshare Location:

10-minute drive to Little Chalfont tube station (Metropolitan Line) or to Beaconsfield or Gerrards Cross overground stations (Chiltern Line), then 35 minutes into central London. A 20-minute walk into the beautiful village of Chalfont St Giles.

Accommodation on Offer:

A bright, double aspect and spacious bedroom upstairs in this beautiful home. Single bed with an additional single bed/sofa, wardrobe, chest of drawers, desk, chair and en-suite toilet and sink. Shared use of bath and shower room downstairs, kitchen, living areas, and stunning garden. There is good wifi. The home is beautiful, clean and tidy, and a cleaner comes regularly.

What the Opportunity involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation, we are looking to match a lovely female sharer with our older homeowner, someone who is willing to provide around 10 hours per week of practical support around the home and some companionship. No personal care is required or permitted.

Our homeowner is a delightful and engaging, interesting, caring and empathetic lady in her mid-80s. She is very close to her family who are in regular contact and are very supportive and has many friends who stay in touch. Having had a successful Homeshare experience for almost one year until recently, she is keen to share her home again.

Our homeowner’s hobbies include painting, art and the garden and her home is full of her own paintings of flowers. As a practising Christian, she also likes to go to church on Sundays when possible.

As a result of a childhood illness, our homeowner has no use of one arm and also has difficulty walking when outside of the home, when she uses a mobility scooter or stick. She still drives, although less so recently.

The ideal Sharer will be someone who could be working or studying (whether at home or not), and could provide a little practical help around the home with tasks that our homeowner finds difficult. For example, emptying the dishwasher and washing machine, putting things away, opening cans and bottles, watering the plants, popping out to collect prescriptions or occasional groceries.

Our homeowner appreciates that the Sharer will have their own life, as does she, however her ideal Sharer might be happy to enjoy sharing a few evening meals or watching some TV shows together in an evening if that works for the Sharer too.

This opportunity would most likely suit someone who drives and has their own car for easy access to the shops and local transport links.

Cost: £199 per month

plus possible contribution to council tax of up to £50 per month and small contribution towards energy bills. Full time students are exempt from Council Tax. This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do not pay any rent to the homeowner.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421