Homeshare – St Johns Wood, London NW8

We are delighted to offer a new and lovely opportunity to live comfortably and affordably in central London, in return for providing some practical support and companionship to an older lady.

Available from: December 2023/January 2024

Homeshare Location:

The clean and cosy apartment is excellently located in a well-maintained block of flats very close to Regents Park, and only a 5-minute walk to St John’s Wood High Street with its lovely shops and cafés and St John’s Wood tube station (Jubilee Line). Oxford Circus is a short bus journey away.

Accommodation on Offer:

A bright, single room with plenty of wardrobe space, a dressing table, a desk, and bookshelves together with a private shower room and toilet. There is a lovely kitchen with storage space for the sharer’s items, washing machine and separate dryer and very nice private communal garden. Wifi is available. A cleaner comes once a week.

[PHOTOS of bedroom to follow soon as the room is being cleared]

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match our older homeowner with a female sharer in their mid to late 20s to 30s, who is happy to provide some daily companionship and practical support and a reassuring presence at night. No personal care is permitted.

Our Homeowner is in her mid-90’s and is still independent. She is a sociable lady, interested in people and is good company. She enjoys seeing her family regularly.

She goes out every day at least once, sometimes on her own on the bus up to Oxford Street or to the local shops in St Johns Wood. Although her eyesight is poor and she is hard of hearing, she has no mobility issues, and her mind is sharp. She was previously a primary school teacher and is an avid reader of fiction and now listens to books daily on Audible. She goes to a book group once a month and the occasional concert at Wigmore Hall. She has always enjoyed concerts, theatre and the cinema but finds these shows too difficult now because of her sight and hearing.

This opportunity would suit a kind and considerate female, who is either working or studying on a hybrid basis or flexibly, who is interested in the arts or music, and would enjoy chatting with the Homeowner about books, culture, and life. Good and clear spoken English is a priority because of her hearing issues and the Homeowner’s preference is for a non-meat eater.

Practical support might include helping with any IT or tv issues, gadgets eg Ipad, occasional food shopping, odd jobs around the flat and companionship time might include going out for an occasional walk or to the shops together.

Our Homeowner may have a cat in the future so the Sharer must be happy to live with a cat. Unfortunately, other cats are not welcome.

(Please note: It is our Homeowner’s preference that the Sharer should be vaccinated against Covid and must be a non-smoker).

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching, vetting and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay any rent to the Homeowner but you may be asked to pay a small monthly contribution towards bills.

We are looking to fill this opportunity very soon so please get in touch if this Homeshare is of interest, providing some information about yourself and why you would be well suited.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421