Homeshare – Canons Park/Stanmore, Middx HA7

We are delighted to offer a new Homeshare opportunity in north west London, situated between Canons Park and Stanmore, for a mature female Sharer to live in with a lovely older lady who is seeking some companionship and a little practical support in return for very comfortable accommodation in her home.

Available from: early January 2024

Homeshare Location:

The house is located in a quiet, residential area only a 10-minute walk away from the shops and cafes in Buckingham Parade, 10 minutes’ walk to Canons Park tube (Jubilee Line, 20 minutes into central London), and excellent bus routes within a short walking distance to Edgware, Brent Cross and Harrow-on-the-Hill. Stanmore Country Park with its stunning views, woods and meadows is close by and the house is very well-positioned for Northwick Park and Edgware General Hospitals.

Accommodation on Offer: 

A lovely, large, bright, newly decorated single bedroom with bedding overlooking a quiet residential road. The bedroom has a wardrobe, chest of drawers and desk, two chairs, shelves, and a bed side table and sink. There is a shared shower room and two separate toilets in the house. The house is very tidy and has a small kitchen with a washing machine. There is a wonderful south-facing garden looked after weekly by a gardener. Wifi is available.

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation, (£199 per month), we are looking to match our Homeowner with a kind and caring, female Sharer, who is happy to provide a little practical support around the house, such as some light housework, occasional hoovering and helping with tasks that our Homeowner finds difficult, but this is primarily about some companionship such as sharing the odd meal and some conversation, and providing a reassuring presence at night. No personal care is required or permitted.

Our homeowner is a lady in her early 90s who is intelligent, friendly, and interested in people and has a very close family. She spends every Sunday with her daughter who lives locally and pops in during the week, and her son visits regularly.  She enjoys her independence, doing chores and heating up her own food and has arrangements on a Tuesday when a carer comes to the house and often on a Friday when a friend visits. She is a little hard of hearing and uses a rollator walker when outside the home.

Her interests include going to church weekly with her daughter (she was very involved with her local church and community for many years as a volunteer), playing scrabble (she still wins!), 19th-century and royal history, historic houses, the garden, reading and watching television as well as friends and family.

The ideal Sharer will be a friendly and tidy female who is working on a hybrid basis or flexibly, or studying, who would enjoy spending a little time with the homeowner chatting, or playing games, and occasionally going on a short local trip together for example to the local garden centre.

A driver with their own car would be preferable (but not essential).

We are looking to match this opportunity soon so if it is of interest, please get in touch and tell us a bit more about yourself and why you would be well suited. (Please note: It is our Homeowner’s preference that the Sharer should be vaccinated against Covid and a non-smoker).

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay any rent to the homeowner.

Bills are included, but you will need to make a contribution towards council tax if you are working, and a modest contribution towards household bills including Wifi.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421