Homeshare – Bayswater, London W2

We are delighted to offer a great opportunity to live affordably and comfortably in the heart of central London in return for providing some practical support and companionship to an older lady.

Available from: mid January 2024

Homeshare Location:

A couple of minutes’ walk to Royal Oak tube (Circle/Hammersmith), Bayswater tube (District Line) and 10 minutes’ walk to the shops and cafés in Notting Hill.

Accommodation on Offer: 

Large bedroom with double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, desk and chair and separate bathroom, and shared use of living room, kitchen and garden. The home has good Wi-Fi.

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 pm), we are looking to re-match our older homeowner with a well-suited Sharer (aged 30 and above preferred) who can provide around 10 hours of practical support around the home and some companionship each week. No personal care is permitted.

Our homeowner, who is in her mid-80s, is a very bright and engaging lady, a former English teacher who loves reading. She is very sociable and still quite independent despite being visually impaired, and enjoys going out to societies, tea parties, and to see friends and family. She enjoys chatting on the phone, listening to books and watching television and she cooks herself simple meals. Her walking is a little unsteady and she uses a stick to get around.

She has enjoyed a wonderful Homeshare with a lady for the last couple of years who is leaving soon to move abroad. Our homeowner chose to Homeshare initially because she found the loneliness aspect of living alone so hard despite her family living close by, and she has benefited enormously from having someone else sharing her home to chat to daily about books, current affairs, culture, and life, share some meals with as well as have some practical help with online and local grocery shopping, IT and a bit of light housework.

The ideal Sharer for this Homeshare opportunity will be a mature female who is working on a hybrid basis or flexibly who is warm, sociable, open-minded, and kind. Someone happy to provide some companionship such as spending time together which might include reading her bits from the newspapers, the TV guide, her mail, and double-checking appointment times, and help such as maybe preparing and sharing a few meals, IT support, cleaning the kitchen, putting the bins out, grocery shopping etc.

We are looking to fill this opportunity very soon so please get in touch if this Homeshare is of interest, providing some information about yourself and why you would be well suited.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching, vetting and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay any rent to the Homeowner, but you may be asked to pay a small monthly contribution towards bills including council tax if you are working.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421