Homeshare – Marylebone, London NW1 

We are delighted to offer a great Homeshare opportunity to live affordably and comfortably in the heart of central London in return for providing some practical support to a young person with autism.

Available from: end March 2024

Homeshare Location:

Only a few moments away from Marylebone Station and 5-10 minutes’ walk to London’s West End and Regents Park etc

Accommodation on Offer:

Large double bedroom in a gorgeous and well maintained flat within a gated block. Plenty of wardrobe space, desk, and chair and private shower room and toilet. Shared use of kitchen and living area. Wifi is available.

What the Opportunity involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match our homeowner with a kind and friendly Sharer who can provide around 10-15 hours each week of practical support and companionship. 

Our homeowner is in his early 30’s and is working full time in the city. He is autistic and whilst independent and self-sufficient, he can often find getting up and leaving home in the midweek mornings quite challenging and would benefit by having somebody else around who can prompt and encourage him to do so. For example, giving a shout out or two or a knock or two on the bedroom door Monday to Friday from around 7:30 – 8:30 am. Similarly he would like to share an hour with someone a few evenings each week to discuss and plan the day ahead to provide some structure and some help with life admin (approx 3 evenings each week around 6:30-7:30 pm), evenings and times flexible and to be agreed weekly.

Our homeowner is engaging, open, articulate and communicative, and sometimes he can be sociable, but at other times he prefers his own company. He has a close family and good friends who are in regular touch. His interests include foreign films, art, philosophy, history, and current affairs.

The ideal Sharer will probably be in their 30s, either working or studying, who is patient, kind and tidy and has an understanding of mental health and can be sensitive to other’s needs. Someone who is up and about early on weekday mornings and who can help the homeowner with some check-in/accountability time in some evenings. The Sharer will be clean and tidy, not overstretched with a busy job themselves, and happy to be around at agreed times to provide support and some companionship, and general help with keeping the flat clean.

Please email us soon if this opportunity is of interest, telling us a bit about yourself, your work and working hours, and why you would be well suited to this particular opportunity. No pets allowed. We are looking for someone who could commit to min 9 months, preferably longer.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do not pay the rent to the homeowner although you will be asked to make a reasonable contribution towards bills and Council tax of approx £150 per month.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421