Homeshare – Old Amersham, Bucks

We are delighted to offer a wonderful new Homeshare opportunity in Amersham, Bucks for a female Sharer to share the beautiful home of an older couple in their 80’s who are seeking some companionship and a bit of practical support in return for the quiet and comfortable accommodation.

Available from: beginning June 2023

Homeshare Location:

The home is located in Old Amersham, a quaint and gorgeous Buckinghamshire village with lovely cafes, restaurants and shops close by, and only a 1-mile walk (15 minutes) to Old Amersham station with a quick and easy commute into central London (Metropolitan Line/Chiltern Line – 35 minutes).

Accommodation on Offer:

Large double bedroom with plenty of storage space and private en-suite bathroom. Shared use of lovely kitchen, living areas and very large and well maintained garden. Wi-Fi is available. There is off street parking for a car and also a garage for storage.

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match this lovely couple with a friendly and kind person, who is happy to provide some companionship and some practical help around the home.

After a long career in the civil service, the older Homeowner, now retired, mostly spends his time at home, reading the newspapers and history books, and caring for his wife who has dementia. He is still driving and goes shopping locally every day for groceries and they spend time in the garden or pottering about at home. He is very sociable and has lots to talk about, having had an interesting career and life until fairly recently when his wife sadly became unwell. The couple have a very sweet rescue cat.

They are looking to be matched with a female Sharer who is working or studying, and who has a friendly and patient disposition and would be happy to share some evening meals with the couple, and conversation and some flexible companionship time. Practical support might include some local grocery shopping, errands, basic IT support, heating up a few simple meals but mostly just enjoying some pleasant conversation and time with them. A cleaner comes to the home regularly.

The ideal Sharer will have some experience of dementia, or be willing to live with a gentle and polite lady who does get confused. She is cared for daily by her husband who would benefit from having a positive and friendly presence in the home.  No personal care is required or permitted.

We are looking to match this opportunity soon, so if it is of interest, please get in touch and tell us about yourself, any relevant experience, your work schedule, and your interests, and why you would be well suited.

A pet (a cat or small dog) would be welcome too!

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do not pay any rent to the Homeowner but may be required to make a small monthly contribution to household bills.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421