Homeshare – St. Johns Wood, London NW8

We are delighted to offer a new and lovely opportunity to live comfortably and affordably in central London, in return for providing some practical support and some companionship to an older lady.

Available from:  October 2023

Homeshare Location:

Excellently located and only a 5-minute walk to St John’s Wood High Street and tube station (Jubilee line) and also only 5 minutes to Maida Vale tube station (Bakerloo line).

Accommodation on Offer:

A single room with a small wardrobe and separate large chest of drawers. Private balcony overlooking the small and lovely garden. Shared use of bathroom, kitchen and living room. There is also a separate large reception room which the Sharer can use for work or study. Wifi is available.

The kitchen is quite small so this would not suit someone who would come with lots of cooking items. [More photos available on request].

What the Opportunity Involves:

In return for the low-cost accommodation (£199 per month), we are looking to match our older homeowner with a female sharer, who is happy to provide a little daily companionship, and practical support but mainly a reassuring presence at night.

Our homeowner is in her mid-80’s and is still independent and driving. She is an artist (a painter) who has exhibited her work over the years, and she is also part of a choir and attends weekly choir practice. She values her own time but finds the idea of living alone quite lonely and isolating, and she likes to have peace of mind that she is not alone at night. She has had lodgers living with her over the years, but in more recent years she has had two Homesharers sharing her home at the same time which works well as someone is always there overnight if the other is away.

As one of the Sharers has recently relocated away from London, we are looking to match a second lovely Sharer to share the home soon who can help our Homeowner with some IT support and general life admin. Someone who is friendly and helpful who would enjoy a chat in the kitchen over a cup of tea, or whilst preparing a meal, and who might be happy to go on an occasional outing together.

This opportunity would suit a mature considerate female, who is ideally working on a hybrid basis or flexibly, who is interested in the arts or music, and would enjoy chatting with the homeowner about culture, current affairs, and life. Someone who is also happy to help with a little light housework such as keeping the kitchen tidy, putting the bins out, watering and weeding the plants occasionally.

Our homeowner has a cat so the Sharer must be happy to live with a cat. Unfortunately, other cats are not welcome.

We are looking to fill this opportunity very soon so please get in touch if this Homeshare is of interest, providing some information about yourself and why you would be well suited.

Cost: £199 per month

This is a monthly facilitation fee for our matching and ongoing monitoring service. You do NOT pay any rent to the homeowner but will be asked to pay a monthly contribution towards bills.

Call us now:  020 3137 6421